And even MORE happy!

OK, so I go for MONTHS without saying a thing, then post twice in two days.  My apologies!

But I was reading COTH today (again, I’m such an addict) and stumbled on another pretty happy ending for a track listed horse, though I don’t have a write up from her owner this time thought I would post something, since what I *DO* have is the mare’s original, and pretty awful, track photo.

A lot of people would overlook a gorgeous mare like this because frankly, it’s sort of hard to see anything in the photo (funny angle, backlit so you can’t see detail, horse in a sorta funny position).  A more practiced eye, though, pauses, and checks where all the important parts are.  And then that person might, say, check the horse’s breeding for names they like.  And then they might take a chance.

Would you?

Isabella G

Isabella G at the track

I might have, but it’s hard to say.  It’s hard to immediately see the nice, smooth, strong coupling and loin, nicely aligned hip, and well build shoulder on this lovely mare, as everything is either glarey or in shadow.  Again, our volunteers work really hard, but track pictures can be hard to get!  You have five or six minutes, not a single square foot of actual level ground (appearances are deceiving – but all the pavement on the backside is sloped for drainage), handlers that may or may not understand direction or how to stand up a horse, and then all the distractions of the track (which may mean the only way to get a horse standing still is to point her in a downhill direction so her butt is to the track, or something).

Anyway, I’ll stop blathering.  This pretty lady actually sold surprisingly quickly, late in the summer of 2010.  Her owner, in the DC area, is showing her in the hunters now, and posted this video today on the COTH message boards.  Hope she doesn’t mind me posting it here!

(link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ac_CbUzULl8 for those who can’t see the embedded one)

Looks like this mare is turning out to be quite nice! 

Coming tomorrow… yet ANOTHER bit of awesomeness, this time about our own dear Cadence, and how she is doing in her new home.

7 responses to “And even MORE happy!

  1. So glad you are back. I enjoy our posts.

  2. As an eventer, I think it is very cool that this gal bought a TB mare (we won’t even mention her color!) straight off the track, with the goal of turning her into a hunter. I hope she is kicking some 5 digit warmblood butt!

  3. For the record, I didn’t have the intention of doing anything with her, just whatever she turned out to be suited for. Also, I have no interest in breed or color warfare. Plus, buying a finished hunter of any breed would likely be much more cost effective.

  4. Catherine, thanks for setting me straight. I apparently misjudged you.

  5. Pingback: OTTB Goodness all over these webs | Retired Racehorse Blog

  6. Pingback: Retired Racehorse Blog

Leave a Reply

