Oh Happy Day!

So I haven’t been on here much because for the last few weeks I’ve been preparing for a mega-important job interview, and stress was sort of killing me.  That, and when I had a spare ten minutes I really needed to be brainstorming about my job, not rambling about how much I love a chestnut filly online.

But the interview was yesterday, and while I continue to focus on my innapropriately large workload (wah!) and various production problems, I can at least take a break to do my requisite gushing about how WONDERFUL little Cadence is.

The last week and a half has been a little bit un-fun due to massive quantities of mud.  There is mud EVERYWHERE.  It is the deep, sucky kind of mud, that tries to suck off your boots and pulls your muscles when you try to walk through it.  So it was no surprise to find her without a shoe last weekend (er… last last weekend, not this one that just finished). Boo! I had wanted to ride, and actually went ahead and did ride (we went for a little walk around the property to get out of the ring), but this put a damper in my plans!  Somehow, I actually FOUND the lost shoe in all that mud – I don’t know how I did it, I *never* find lost shoes, and that stuff was really deep in spots, but I managed.  So mid-last week, we had a shoe repair and a vet visit.

Cadence is now up to date with her coggins and also got to be a vet teaching tool as our regular vet has a young assistant working with her these days. 🙂 

Once she was fixed up, she was ridden by our volunteer Laura for the rest of the week, and I didn’t get the pleasure of a ride until the next weekend.  Saturday we had a nice flatwork session, sadly in the indoor due to weather, where I worked almost exclusively on really stretching long and low at the trot, with a little work on more prompt/correct downward transitions.  Because she has such good brakes, my tendency is to forget to do these “right,” so it’s important that we work on it.  Just because it’s “easy” doesn’t mean it’s right!

Sunday I joined a a fellow rider at our barn in a little gymnastics lesson.  It was Cadence’s first time seeing more than one jump in a row, and she was a superstar!

The first time through with the second jump up, she got distracted by it and nearly fell over the first crossrail.  She learned from that immediately and the next few times through, and with the addition of the third jump, she was lovely.  Well… sort of lovely, she does like to  expend the minimal possible amount of energy, and as a result, until the jumps were raised a little bit and I applied a little more encouragement, she trotted through the jumps like cavaletti. 

After a few rounds, though, we got a little more proficient.

Yes, we have a wicked right drift going on.  Cadence is very affected by any crookedness or shifts of weight on the part of the rider (oops).  I have a tendency to weight my right stirrup a little more, and collapse on that side of my body without realizing it.  Which leads to a right drift.  She’s wonderfully honest, but if I don’t work on this, it could lead to her developing a chronic drift or starting to run out (oh, shameful! bad me!).  So correcting my own weakness here is priority #1 for this week (oh, my grey horse has a lot of no stirrup work to look forward to the rest of this week… haha!)

Either way, she’s pretty darn cute, and I love her nonchalant approach to all this.  She doesn’t rush or get quick about jumping, just keeps the same rhythm the whole time through.  Love that in a horse! As a rider, it means it’s much easier to focus on yourself, and how to fix things without a lot of messing around with the horse.  She’s the sort of horse if you ride right, she goes perfect 🙂  LOVE her!

Leave a Reply

