The Usual Comings and Goings

Mikey is continuing to do really well, and I will have to get some new pictures this weekend.  He came in looking very fat and slick, so there’s not much “before and after” here, really.  He has lost a little pudge and replaced it with some muscle, and has a nice bit of dappling going on that makes him very handsome.  As he will be available soon I guess it’s time to take some good pictures for his listing page. (*sniff*)

In other news, we have several horses making the trek to North Carolina this weekend – some of our Delaware guys, and one of our newer mares from Charles Town.  Also we have a new horse coming in today, and I will be checking on a few possible donated horses on Saturday during my track visit.  So as usual, it’s pretty hectic!

Niner loaded up on Wednesday to go to her new home.  She is making the trip with a few other horses, and will be one of our first to go to a polo home.  Being small, and agile, she has all the right ingredients.  After quite a bit of chaos getting shipping organized, everything worked out and she loaded up quickly and easily.  While finishing up some paperwork she stomped the trailer, almost like she was saying “let’s get this show on the road!”  We have been promised frequent updates on her progress, and I’m very excited to see how she does.  Her new owner seems quite smitten with her, and I can’t wait to see photos when she gets her beautiful black coat back (she has gotten quite sunbleached in the last few months). 

In other news, remember Afton?  We know he’s been doing well but we recently got a fantastic update that he won his BN event against some pretty stiff competition 🙂 

I also got this great update on Archie in my email recently:

He’s LOVELY at the trot. I can’t even begin to tell you how great he is to ride. His canter is coming along in leaps and bounds too. And absolutely NOTHING fazes him. It’s like he knows he has a job to do and nothing can distract him from it. For instance, I got home later than I was planning tonight, so by the time I got back to the arena with him it was already starting to get dark. Our farm used to be part of a much bigger farm, and the field that joins up with the corner where our arena is still is owned by the original owner, so there are frequently horses turned out there. Tonight when I was riding the horses were galloping all around and carrying on, and Archie didn’t bat an eye at it. Somebody shot a gun off across the road, and he didn’t budge at that either. It’s like the world teamed up tonight to see if Archie could be spooked, and he definitely proved that getting him to act out isn’t that easy. =)
 
I couldn’t possibly think of a better match for me as a rider. He’s really practically perfect for me, and I’m very, very happy with him. =)”

All this makes me very happy 🙂

I won’t be posting lots and lots of updates in the next few weeks – I’m currently working on getting set up for a move, which is causing a lot of additional stress in my life (of course!) and making things pretty hectic.  I forget, sometimes, to take care of me, and get very caught up in answering emails, getting started on fundraising things, writing to companies to see about getting sponsorships and products, and then all the fun track stuff (and not-so-fun track stuff), along with trying to keep Mikey progressing and my own horse ridden (to which he says HA! HAHAHAH!)… so hopefully the next few weeks I’ll be able to take care of me a little bit? heh.

2 responses to “The Usual Comings and Goings

  1. What an interesting blog you have here! I’m so used to reading food blogs…this was a breath of fresh air. Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my site earlier, too! Good luck with your move!

Leave a Reply

